Tutoring My Children

Published July 31, 2013 by Freedom Literature

I have been playing teacher with my kids. They aren’t that happy but its okay, its for their own good. We started to read a book and read each night. I’m also giving them work on different subject so they’re brain are warmed up for school.  If we want our kids to be successful, the work starts at home. Its all in the message that we relay to our children.  When children see that something is important to you as a parent, it becomes important to them even if they don’t want to admit it. My children’s biggest challenge is reading and writing. I can definitely relate because I did not like to read when I was younger and now all I do is read whenever I get a chance. My children know this so they are not so hard on themselves, but I see how they make the attempt on learning about what I’m reading. So what I do is, every time I read a book about history, I sit down with them and summarized what I learned and even look up pictures online to help them comprehend it. I also work with them on their writing and reading, I pick a topic and they have to write 5 complete sentences about the subject. Although they don’t like to do it, they really don’t have a choice, at the end of the day they enjoy it. I make sure to pick good topics.

I am so proud of my kids. They are so awesome and I know every mother says that about their children but I love their personalities. They have this way of being that light up a room. They both have strong characters but are absolute sweethearts at the same time. I know they will be wonderful husbands and fathers one day.

I leave you with an inspirational quote I found this morning:

The greatest glory in living, lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall. – Nelson Mandela

Enjoy your evening!

Leave a Reply

