Burnt as a Child

Published October 17, 2013 by Freedom Literature

I hope everyone is enjoying the stories and you are also reminiscing about the times God saved you as well.

When I was about 4 or 5, my mother, my sister and I were living with our grandmother in Puerto Rico. My parents were separated, don’t know exactly why but you guys can only imagine.

My grandmother’s house was pretty old, probably one of first houses built in that area and most likely the last one still standing. The house didn’t have a water heater so we had to boil water and mix it with the cold to be able to shower. It was my turn for a shower, and from what I was told, I was a pretty hyper child ;). I can only imagine my little bald, skinny self running everywhere non-stop driving my mother crazy.

Eventually they got me in the bathroom. I don’t remember who was in the bathroom with me, it was either my mother or my grandmother. The pot of boiling water was placed on top of the toilet with the handle facing towards the outside. As I started to undress, I lifted my little dress over my head, and as my arm was coming down, I hit the handle causing the water to spill over the right side of my body. My sister tells me my skin rolled up like window shades and I was screaming on the top of my lungs. They called the ambulance and I was rushed to the hospital. My father came as soon as he heard what happened to me. When the time was almost up for the visitors, the nurse told my dad he had to leave. He refused and hid under my bed until the next morning ;). During the time I was in the hospital recovering, one of the procedures they had to do in order for me to heal, was place a cream over my burnt skin and once the cream dried up, they had to peal it off with a spatula like tool, which caused me to bleed. I don’t remember much of the details, only what I was told by my mother. Due to the severity of the burn there was a chance I could loose my right breast, but I thank God because they were able to save it and I healed just fine, like nothing had happened.

God is absolutely amazing. At times we feel everything bad is happening to us but we fail to realize things could be much worse. God NEVER gives us more than we can handle, know that to be true.

Hope you’re enjoying the stories, stay tuned for the next one. If you missed one, just click on the list of most recent posts and you will be able to enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

