2 Year Cancer Anniversary

Published November 18, 2013 by Freedom Literature

I know the title can throw anybody off. But I like to catch your attention.

Today is a very special day for me, because on this day my God saved me. He gave me another chance at life by allowing my Kidney Cancer to be detected on time. Two years ago today, I had a left kidney nephrectomy done at Rex Hospital by two amazing doctors. I will never forget them and I will be eternally grateful to them for being so wonderful to my family and I in such a critical time as this. Mark W. McClure, MD, FACSDaniel Khera-McRackan, MD are the doctors God provided for my care and continue to care for me.

When I was diagnosed with Kidney Cancer it was the last thing I was expecting. I had been married for only 5 months when I was diagnosed and I have to say God gave me the right man to marry, because he stood by my side all the way. This experience God allowed me to go through was amazing, yes amazing, because it turned my world around. It made me realize what was really important in my life and how I was wasting my time being angry & rebellious. God allowed this experience to happen so my eyes would be open to my reality, to the true reality of the way I was living.

This experience did not only give me a new perspective on life but also to those around me. God’s purpose was so powerful it caused an effect in my atmosphere. I praise God so much because after the surgery was completed and the Cancer was removed from my body, the doctors were really able to see how serious the situation was. Dr. McRackan called my parents to the side, while I was in the recovery area, explained to them that I only had one more year to live if the Cancer wouldn’t have been detected. As I write this, my tears are running down my cheeks, because I think about how me not being here would’ve affected my kids, my husband, my family and my friends. But I praise Him because He decided it wasn’t time for me to come home yet, He has other plans in store for me. God created me for a purpose and I’m walking into my purpose everyday with His help.

It doesn’t matter how dark your days may become, close your eyes, God will light the way.

Leave a Reply

